Are You Giving Your Power Away

ARE YOU GIVING YOUR POWER AWAY!

I’ve been reading Iyanla Vanzant’s book “Peace from Broken Pieces, How to get through what you’re going through.”  I’ve had it for a few months and finally had such a dramatically disturbing argument with someone very close to me that I’ve finally started reading it.  I must say that this book is helping me and I’m only on page 25.  So, with that being said, are you giving your power away.

I’ve come to realize that with all of life uncertainities and unfortunate events that the lesson is can you live through it and come out the other side having learned something, thereby being more powerful than the former.  My life hasn’t been easy, but certainly not as difficult as some.  I’ve suffered sexual and emotional abuse as a child and at 35 am still dealing with
the residuals.  And some of them come out in the most unfortunate ways.  You find yourself engaging it some destructive behavior.  Don’t misunderstand me, I’ve never engaged in drug use, promiscuity or alcohol abuse, which what I’ve been through,
is usually the inevitable.  But my problems perpetuated psychological dysfunction, self-diagnosed.  All of us have a story, but are we going to allow it to be a testimony and empower others or wallow in self-pity.  I’m striving to become the former.
I don’t want to spend any more of my life trying to get healed from childhood drama.  Honestly, it is a lifelong pursuit. And trying to be healed before you live and experience more positive things is not wise and fruitless.  I’ve lived a pretty sheltered life because of things that happened to me and because of things I saw.  And living that kind
of life only leaves you inexperienced, sexually immature and frustrated, sometimes bitter and very lonely.  Most of my friends are married with children and those who aren’t live in other states.  So, I’ve conditioned myself to live alone.  And I’ve figured out that I don’t know how to relate to the opposite sex because of pain that was inflicted upon me as a child, which led to me not communicating with them often.  Don’t get me wrong, I’ve had my puppy love, but haven’t had a meaningful relationship with any males other than my brothers. And, of course those don’t teach you about romantic relationships.

I recently purchased India.Arie’s new CD, “Songversation.”  It’s like my life in song.  There’s a song called “Life I Know” that describes my current situation so accurately it’s eerie.  Now there are other songs on the CD like, “Just Do You” which I’m trying to figure out how I can use that as my theme song on this blog. Then there’s “Break the Shell” and “Songbird Rise,” which are so needed in my life right now.  This CD has been on HEAVY ROTATION in my cd player because it’s speaking life to me.  God always meets you where you are and sometimes you may feel as if you’re in the darkest place possible and He shines
His brilliant light and you just know that this is just temporal.

Lesson Learned–Don’t let you past dictate your future, Stop giving your power away!!

Also purchase Iyanla Vanzant’s book “Peace from Broken Pieces” and India.Arie CD Songversation.

Until Next time,

Be Blessed, Be Loved but most of all BE YOU!!!!

Leave a Reply

