We Don’t Need Another Hero

I’m in the midst of an extreme affinity to Tina Turner, her music, her spirit, her strength and her class.  I feel this kinship with her that I’ve never had with any other artist. We have so many similarities, not that I’ve ever been abused physically as she has, but so many others. I’ve literally been saturating myself with all things Tina Turner.  I’ve probably watched every video that is on youtube about her, old interviews, performances etc.  There’s one interview in particular that’s very short, about 3.5 minutes, that she did with Ebony Jet back in 1986, that  I swear brings me to tears every time I’ve watched it. She’s talking about finding her place, finding her ground. Lord knows, that’s what I’ve been seeking, MY GROUND!!  I’m even in tears now just thinking about it.  We all have a place that we feel most at home, so to speak.  And it’s not necessarily the place where you were born or where your family is.  But what we have to do is overcome the fear or even do it afraid and go forth to find our place.  God will order your steps if you believe.  I’ve known for a looooooonnnnnnnnggggg time that where I am is not my place.  Things have been drying up for years but, at this time, the well is DDDDRRRRRYYYYYYY!  But, as God said to Ezekiel, these dry bones can live.

I’ve  bought ten, yes, 10 of her CD’s and 2 live DVDs.  I’ve read her book twice in 5 days. I’ve even been learning some of her dance moves, and for those of you that know me, they know that’s rather difficult considering  that I’m rhythmically challenged, LOL. I’ve even lost 7 pounds, in a week, learning those dance steps. Now I’ve had several of her CDs and I even read her book in the past, my teenage years, but they have a different significance at this time in my life.  Maybe, because she was approximately my age when she decided to make a drastic change in her life. It’s a testament that it is NEVER too late.

Following are the lyrics to a song that many didn’t really listen to, they are absolutely profound.  It’s talking about generational curses…we ALL have them. 

“We Don’t Need Another Hero” By Tina Turner

OUT OF THE RUINS
OUT FROM THE WRECKAGE
CAN`T MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE THIS TIME
WE ARE THE CHILDREN THE LAST GENERATION
WE ARE THE ONES THEY LEFT BEHIND
AND I WONDER WHEN WE ARE EVER GONNA CHANGE
LIVING UNDER THE FEAR, TILL NOTHING ELSE REMAINS
WE DON`T NEED ANOTHER HERO
WE DON`T NEED TO KNOW THE WAY HOME
ALL WE WANT IS LIFE BEYOND THUNDERDOME
LOOKING FOR SOMETHING
WE CAN RELY ON
THERE`S GOTTA BE
SOMETHING BETTER OUT THERE
LOVE AND COMPASSION
THEIR DAY IS COMING
ALL ELSE ARE CASTLES BUILT IN THE AIR
AND I WONDER WHEN WE ARE EVER GONNA CHANGE
LIVING UNDER THE FEAR TILL NOTHING ELSE REMAINS

ALL THE CHILDREN SAY
WE DON`T NEED ANOTHER HERO
WE DON`T NEED TO KNOW THE WAY HOME
ALL WE WANT IS LIFE BEYOND
THUNDERDOME

SO WHAT DO WE DO WITH OUR LIFES
WE LEAVE ONLY A MARK
WILL OUR STORY SHINE LIKE A LIGHT
OR END IN THE DARK
GIVE IT ALL OR NOTHING

WE DON`T NEED ANOTHER HERO
WE DON`T NEED TO KNOW THE WAY HOME
ALL WE WANT IS LIFE BEYOND
THUNDERDOME 

Leave a Reply

